Planning & Oversight Committee

The Oakland Fund for Children and Youth (OFCY) is overseen by the Planning and Oversight Committee (POC) which is responsible for the following activities:

  1. Preparing a three-year strategic investment plan
  2. Soliciting funding applications from private non-profit and public agencies through an open and fair application process
  3. Submitting to the Oakland City Council for its adoption annual independent evaluation reports
  4. Receiving City Auditor annual reports on the Fund's Financial Statement and the Base Spending Requirement

The Planning and Oversight Committee is comprised of 17 Oakland residents, eight of which are youth not older than 20 years of age. One adult and one youth is appointed by each City Councilmember, and one representative is appointed by the Office of the Mayor.  The Planning and Oversight Committee meets as a full committee on the first and/or third Wednesday of the month at 6:00pm, usually at Oakland City Hall, in Hearing Room 4 on the 2nd floor, unless otherwise scheduled. All meetings are open to the public. Sign up for the Mailing List located in the left menu to receive regular announcements for upcoming POC and subcommittee meetings.


How to Apply to Become a Member of the POC

Please use the online application form on the City of Oakland Boards and Commissions website.

  1. Click on the green button labeled Apply for a Board
  2. Select Children's Fund Planning and Oversight Committee for the question Which Boards would you like to apply for? 

For more information about the POC, please email Sachelle Heavens at sheavens@oaklandnet.com


2017-2018 OFCY Planning and Oversight Committee

Mayor Libby Schaaf

 Astrid Regalado

At Large - Councilmember Rebecca Kaplan

Youth: Leann Mohamed Abelrahman

Adult: Julie Waters

District 1 - Councilmember Dan Kalb


Adult: Gerald Williams

District 2 - Councilmember Abel J. Guillen

Youth: Francois Barrilleaux

Adult: Julie Tinker Ward

District 3 - Councilmember Lynette Gibson McElhaney

Youth: Yota Omosowho

Adult: Anakarita Allen

District 4 - Councilmember Annie Campbell Washington


Adult: Eugene Lee

District 5 - Councilmember Noel Gallo

Youth: Mayra Sanchez

Adult: Max Chacana

District 6 - Councilmember Desley Brooks

Youth: Hilda Ameyaw

Adult: Betty Booker

District 7 - Councilmember Larry Reid


Adult: Kisha Jackson